Prospective 2019-20 PGY1 candidates!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zysaty

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! New around here, so I apologize if I should be posting this elsewhere or if something similar exists. I just wanted to share my stats and get some input from peers, and especially everyone here that sits on residency panels and committees, on how I can better myself and my CV. I'm a P2 student entering APPEs in several months and will be applying for a 2019-2020 PGY1 (hopefully in CA). If you're looking into the same thing, feel free to share your stats too!

Pharm GPA: 3.76
Work: Intern at a grocery chain x 2 years (5 years a tech previously)
Orgs: Rho Chi, PLS, ASHP, APhA, Psych Club
Leadership: VP (ASHP), VP of Comm. Outreach (APhA), Operation Heart Co Chair (APhA)
Teaching Experience: TA for 1 quarter of PK
Community Service: Screening events and health fairs, community outreach and education, homeless shelters, nursing home volunteering (some of these I coordinated myself)
Research: No pubs yet, but currently working with an ID pharmacist (hopefully will present at Midyear), 3 years of previous research in undergrad with some publications
Other: Dean's List, 2 scholarships, CPR+immuno cert

I'm currently undecided between Acute or AmbC, but I figured I would have a better idea after my first few APPE rotations. Does it look bad during interviews to admit that I don't know exactly which particular focus I want to be in? Thanks, all!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: