PSTP/ABIM short track selection

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

somemd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
For those applying to short track programs or currently in one, what factors did you take into account when choosing a program? Obviously, research options and location are a big part. But, I feel like I have limited knowledge beyond that on how to choose a fellowship program. The interviews are often combined with the categorical program, and you rarely get to talk to many of the fellows and even if you did, most of them won't be around by the time you start. So, it's even more difficult to get a good sense of the fellowship programs than it is for the categorical spot.

I'm interested in heme/onc, but I know very little about how to judge the strength of clinical training beyond reputation and the vague opinions of a few faculty at my home institution, which seem to correspond mostly with USNews rankings.

It seems that career mentorship is quite important, but every program I've been to claims they have great mentoring and help trainees transition from fellowship to faculty. And, many of these programs haven't been around for that long and so don't have a long track record of successful graduates.

Anyhow, I'd appreciate it if other people have suggestions or could share the approach they've taken in the process.

Members don't see this ad.