psychiatry chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ravendown

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So i'm basically an average student. Been getting 50% on most of my shelf exams, including psych. I'll probably get interviews from most programs I think, but what about some programs like Columbia, Cornell, NYU, Mt. Sinai; I ask because I want to stay in New York City [my home and close to family!]. I'm also going to be doing some Psych Research in November [haven't done it before and wanted some experience to see if I like it] and hopefully I'll be getting a Personality Disorders Elective at Cornell's westchester area [hopefully]. Anyone with similar experiences/predicaments care to comment [everyone else is welcome to as well, of course]. This whole residency application is scaring me, since i'm from a 7-year med program, and didn't really have to apply to other medical schools since I did all that during high-school. Thank You.

Step 1: 232
Step 2: haven't taken yet

Members don't see this ad.

So i'm basically an average student. Been getting 50% on most of my shelf exams, including psych. I'll probably get interviews from most programs I think, but what about some programs like Columbia, Cornell, NYU, Mt. Sinai; I ask because I want to stay in New York City [my home and close to family!]. I'm also going to be doing some Psych Research in November [haven't done it before and wanted some experience to see if I like it] and hopefully I'll be getting a Personality Disorders Elective at Cornell's westchester area [hopefully]. Anyone with similar experiences/predicaments care to comment [everyone else is welcome to as well, of course]. This whole residency application is scaring me, since i'm from a 7-year med program, and didn't really have to apply to other medical schools since I did all that during high-school. Thank You.