PT to MD/DO with my numbers????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PTtoMD2010

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well here goes....

I graduated from undergrad with a 3.0 science and 3.3 cum GPA. And DPT with a 3.6 GPA. Ive heard people talking about after 10 years admissions wont look as much into undergrad but Im only 3 years out of undergrad.
Also my grad GPA isnt stellar. If I retake and average 3.75 and only shoot for DO then I can have a cum and science GPA of around 3.6 (with DO grade forgiveness) because the only thing that brought my cGPA down was science otherwise I had a 3.7(being a pre-PT major I have alot of sciences).
I guess my main question is usually non trads have other degrees and never took sciences. Obviously if I retake a science its expected that i do better. Will that show the upward trend? Do I need to retake more high level classes besies BIo, Chem and Physics 1 and 2 such as genetics and biochem? this is assuming I get at least a 28 on my MCAts (for DO school)

Finally how does all this sound for MD (with a >31-32 on MCAT)
Take into consideration Id like to stay in NY.
Any help/suggestions would be great. If there were any other PT or other health professional to MD/DO your story would be good to hear in how you went about doing it.

Members don't see this ad.

MD is going to be tough. I'd focus on DO and retake classes.
Wherever you heard that after 10 years schools don't care about your UG; that couldn't be more wrong. The system is not setup for non-trads, and they will always care about your old grades. Won't they won't care about are your DPT grades. I know that sounds crazy, but that's the way it works.

Retake all the prereqs if you haven't mastered that material. You will need it to prep for the MCATs. 1-2 years of full-time work is probably needed before you apply. Make sure you take things slow and ensure all A's in the retakes.

:luck: