PTCAS Essay

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

strivehigh

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Would anybody be interested in giving my essay for the ptcas a quick read? This is my first time applying to schools so this process is very nerve-racking. This is not by any means my final copy, I have only done a brief spell/grammer check myself and fixed maybe a sentence or two. I just want to know anybody's thoughts on the direction I am taking. Too much personal info? Not enough of the prompt included? Too long? Focus more on stats? Etc. By the way, I use the word "I" quite a bit because it seems other people have chosen to do the same thing.

The prompt asks: What is professionalism in the context of being a student in a doctor of physical therapy program?

I appreciate the time that anybody is willing to give, thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Attachments

• Personal statement ptcas.docx
    14.1 KB · Views: 184
I think it's a great start for a school specific question on "Why Physical Therapy"? However, it doesn't really follow the prompt too well. You waited until the very end to mention professionalism. For my essay, I wrote about how different professional experiences lead me to want a career in PT. APTA mentions the core values of professionalism for PT: Professionalism

I chose a few of these, and instead of just listing examples of instances where I was emotionally intelligent or communicated well, I comprised a story about how I grasped these concepts, which then led me to PT...if that makes sense? If you decide to make corrections I would be more than happy to proofread it for you!