Publishing research in medical school vs undergrad, differences?

Jun 22, 2020
I know at some 1 year preclinical schools like Duke, you get an entire year for research. This seems great, but I am just wondering: how is medical student research different from undergrad research?

I've spent the last two years in a basic science lab and no publications in sight. I imagine as a medical student I'll have even less time. How do medical students possibly get published for those residency apps? What gives?

TakotsuboOkazaki

2+ Year Member
Dec 4, 2016
Laniakea Supercluster
Status
  1. Medical Student
We get published in a variety of ways.

You can get listed on a publication for anything from grammatical editing, to data collection, complete independent project completion or, hell, even because the PI just likes you.

The ideal situation in medical school is that you begin to take charge of more components of a project as you work under residents/PIs in a mentor-mentee relationship.

Time is not as limited as you might think, provided you’re well organized and disciplined.

Be upfront about publication expectations up front. Strike a balance between making your goals clear without coming across with a “what can you do for me” attitude. Clinical researchers (MD/DO) will have a better feel for med student expectations in terms of tangible publications.

Also, as someone who got boned out of 1-2 papers I helped with in UG, I feel you. Good luck.

Reactions: 1 users
Apr 9, 2020
Status
  1. Medical Student (Accepted)
Currently scouting research opportunities. Been published in low ranked journals before med school (nothing crazy).