Purpose of shelf exams?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fif the Great

Slowly Cracking Up
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anyone give me a good reason why schools give shelf exams? At my school, they aren't very high stakes (a minimal 10% impact at the end of a block) and they're pretty long and cumbersome. Sure, I'm all for Step 1 prep but Lord knows I'm not going to remember a single thing about Biochem or Physio especially after Pharm, Path, Gross, Histo, Embryology, and Micro. And who cares where I rank nationally with a bunch of other first time shelf-takers? Step 1 is the only exam that really matters. I studied a grand total of 0 hours for both the Physio and Biochem shelves. I finished 1 point above the national average in Biochem, and 1 point below in Physio. So what? Should I now go buy a Physio refresh book and study in my free time between learning the borders of the femoral triangle and discerning what the heck an intercalated disc looks like on a microscope? Personally I think it's a complete waste of time. I don't recall my college biology courses making us take a practice MCAT and then counting it towards our final grade. I studied for the MCAT on my own time.

I could be completely wrong about this and hope someone can give me a pretty good reason why. And plus, this is one of my first posts on SDN, so I have to break the ice with my first whiny post. :D

Members don't see this ad.

The schools also use it to compare the students against the national average to make sure they are teaching the right stuff.

thackl said:
The schools also use it to compare the students against the national average to make sure they are teaching the right stuff.

Thats a big reason why.