Question about application and observation hours

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Julie S

Functional monster
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I have very recently decided that I want to become a physical therapist, but I would like to apply in the fall. I have extensive experience working in the health care field with Parkinson's patients as I have spent the last year at the University of Pennsylvania as an Outreach and Research Coordinator. I helped to start a dance program for Parkinson's patients and we collaborated with physical therapists, which is how I became introduced to PT. I also have extensive experience leading support groups which has given me skills in communicating with patients, but not necessarily in a PT-specific way. Before this, I was set on being a nurse practitioner.

I have recently started volunteering in 3 different PT settings (outpatient ortho, outpatient neuro, and inpatient acute care). By the end of the summer, I will have accumulated over 50 hours. I will get good recommendations from my neuro PTs as I have worked with them on a couple of projects.

My academics are solid (a 3.85, bunch of graduation awards, 770M and 540V). I also was involved with extracurriculars in college (a community nutrition project, teaching assistant, and captain of my cross-country team). I think I'm a good candidate, but I'm concerned about the lack of volunteer hours.

Pitt is my first choice, and I know that they start reviewing applications on September 15th. Would it be a better idea for me to wait and apply when I have logged more hours with PTs, or should I apply right away to get my application in the mix? Should I mention that I don't have these hours yet because I was set on being an NP prior to this point?

Thanks for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,