Question about Texas Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sfoksn

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question regarding Texas schools. I know this may sound stupid, but I assure you I am not trying to offend anybody or be ignorant.

It seems that Texas schools have MUCH LOWER tuition than many other dental schools.

I was wondering if Texas schools still provide their students with same quality of education? I am just puzzled by the fact that the Texas schools are collecting like 1/4 or even lower tuition than many other dental schools. How are they able to afford everything? Does Texas state support the schools whole a lot more than other states?

I am a California resident, do you think it is worth the effort for me to apply to Texas schools? I am thinking of applying to Texas schools as long as the education I get in TX schools is similar to education from other dental schools in the west/east coast.

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

TX has a monster budget for d/medical schools. Education quaility definitely same as others..

Members don't see this ad :)
No, it is not worth the effort, because it's highly unlikely that Texas will accept you.

Baylor is one of the cheapest schools in the nation, but there you'll do more lab work than almost any other school which is very time consuming.

without even looking up Texas' government information and their education budget, its quite obvious the most logical answer is that they provide more tax money for their dental schools. this is more apparent in the fact that its nearly impossible for out of staters to get in, which is only fair when the state is providing that much tax money to fund the education. most likely those oos students have ties to texas, the schools, or are from neighboring states.