question about the 1yr english requirement

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdcurious

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I go to a UC and have taken 2 quarters of English. For my last quarter (to fulfill 1 yr) I am taking an online English course that is not UC transferrable. I don't need the credit to graduate from my university, just for medical school. Will med schools accept an online English course that my university will not??? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Of course for a definitive answer, you'll want to check with the med schools themselves, but i found that the med schools weren't too stringent on the english requirement, as it pertained to what type of course. i graduated a few years ago and only took one semester of english, so i still had one left to take, so i took it at a junior college. i do believe it was UC transferrable, however. Anyway, i called two of the schools i got accepted at to see if this creative writing course would suffice, and they really didn't delve all that deeply into it. Basically, they said "Is the class called English something or other?" Yes. "then it's fine".
The schools know the english requirement is pretty worthless, and you should be ok as long as this online course isn't a complete joke (like ESL if you're fluant in english). Again, check to make sure, because you wouldn't want to have any trouble with an acceptance in june of the year you're supposed to start because you dont have the prereq.

i would say it probably does count ---i took 2 quarters and i took 1 quarter of linguistics and i applied and there was no problem as far as i know.

Members don't see this ad :)
I will have to kind of disagree with the above posters. It probably won't be a problem, but be prepared for it to possibly be a hassle, and think about preparing for that now.