Question for DOs about traditional internship year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rael

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I hope some of the DOs out there can clarify something for me. I am a graduate of an osteopathic school. I was wondering if a DO can do a traditional internship year and then go to an allopathic institution for residency. And if this is possible, would we be able to start as PGY-2? Say, for example, I did an osteopathic traditional internship and then wanted to start as PGY-2 in internal medicine at an allopathic program, would there be any problems having the first year approved? Would some things need to be repeated?
I appreciate any insight from you guys. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Its definately possible. Did it myself. Just check with the allopathic program to which you are applying.

It definitely is possible, but you may have to repeat a few things. My friend did that going into IM/PEDS, and only had to do about 2-3 months extra to make up for the intership. I would defeintely contact both programs before thinking about doing this though, some places may make you repeat your internship...and that would bite.

Alot probably depends on whether the traditional year is at a dually accreditted institution or just a straight AOA institution. I would think that in a dually accredited ACGME/AOA internship you won't have a problem but in just an AOA internship without ACGME approval you probably will need to repeat a year.

Its definately possible. Did it myself. Just check with the allopathic program to which you are applying.

Would this be dependent on the number of PGY-2 spots available? I am curious... in the same boat/same question as the OP.

The answer is "it depends":