question for Dr. Doan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

madmax1000

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone and Dr. Doan,
I had a quick question, so I am not good at standardized tests and I got a 217 on Step 1; unfortunately I didn't honor any clerkships because of my shelf exam scores (need >90% to honor), even though I had a 90-95% (from orals and the rotation) going into it. I was informed by my deans office that one of my letter writers addressed this issue in one of my LOR, saying I was a very strong student who performed well above my clerkship grade.
That being said, 2 of my letters are from prominent faculty at top 5 ophtho programs, were I have spent 6 weeks at each place. I also have 2 papers in progress from these places and I am told my letters of rec are excellent.
Unfortunately so far I have only 1 interview at my home school (an average midwest program) and that is it. I don't know what to do, I was thinking of withdrawing from the match, doing a year of research, and then reapplying. Whats your advice? Anyone thinking the same, what should I do?
Thanks.
madmax1000

Members don't see this ad.

Andrew_Doan said:
Sit tight and wait to see how many interviews you get by the end of November. If you're able to get ~7 interviews, then give it a shot. Good luck.

I know the question was directed toward Andrew, but here are my 2 cents. I personally know of one applicant who had one interview at his home school. He interviewed, but later pulled out of the match. He would have been accepted had he stayed in. Don't select yourself out of anything. Let the programs do that for you. If things really aren't looking good, pick a backup career and get your application in line this year. You owe it to yourself, however, to see the ophtho thing through to the end.

Members don't see this ad :)