Question on sports medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zeppelinpage4

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've looked around online but couldn't find a straightforward answer to this, but posting if anyone might know. I'm a pediatric resident and am looking at various specialty options after residency. I'm looking at sports medicine as an option but noticed some programs take peds, IM, FM, EM and PM&R residency graduate, while others don't take peds grads or some mix of the other specialties. If I were to go to a sports medicine program that accepts peds and IM graduate, and I sit for the sports medicine boards am I qualified to see adults and kids? Or due to my primary specialty in pediatrics, I will only be able to do sports medicine visits for kids. Likewise, will my sports medicine salary be different based on which primary specialty I was trained in?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I've looked around online but couldn't find a straightforward answer to this, but posting if anyone might know. I'm a pediatric resident and am looking at various specialty options after residency. I'm looking at sports medicine as an option but noticed some programs take peds, IM, FM, EM and PM&R residency graduate, while others don't take peds grads or some mix of the other specialties. If I were to go to a sports medicine program that accepts peds and IM graduate, and I sit for the sports medicine boards am I qualified to see adults and kids? Or due to my primary specialty in pediatrics, I will only be able to do sports medicine visits for kids. Likewise, will my sports medicine salary be different based on which primary specialty I was trained in?

Thanks
I wouldn’t pay a peds sports med fellow to see adults but I don’t know the relevant licensing laws

I wouldn’t pay a peds sports med fellow to see adults but I don’t know the relevant licensing laws