Question!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Letmetoktok

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am new to this website hope someone can help me out. I graduated from college 6+ years ago in Texas and recently I decided that I want to go to dental school. I've always wanted to become a dentist but my personal situation didn't allow me in the past. My undergrad GPA was around 2.9~3.0 (both overall and science) I was doing well in the beginning of my undergrad year but my GPA had dropped after I transffered to another college (this is probably not a good thing?) Many people on this web suggested post-bac or master's program to bring up the GPA but I was thinking to may be just take some more undergrad upper science courses to bring up my overall and science GPAs. The reason for this is I am currently working full time
and taking night classes would be the best option for me. Plus may be I can get to know some professors for recommendation letters later on. I am prob. going to find some dentists around my place to get my shadowing hours on weekends and planning to take DAT in Nov or Dec.

So my question is do you think taking night classes can still work? If so, can i obtain credits from community college as long as you have done your pre-reqs from University?

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Since you are doing this offset your low gpa, you are gonna want to try and take those classes at a 4 year institution if possible..

It would be more convincing if you did well in classes taken at a 4 yr university than cc. Also, if you need to retake any prereqs, all the more reason to take them at 4 yr institution bc if you have them at cc, you will not be able to apply to schools that do not take cc prereqs. (if your prereqs are covered, it's not absolutely necessary to take classes at university, but it would look better I presume)