Academic Dishonesty Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anonmon

Reaction score
Hello, I am seeking some advice!
I graduated with a degree in Biology December 2023 with a low GPA and I am currently applying to SMPs and Masters/ Post-Bacc programs.
In the first semester of my senior year (Fall 2022) my mental health severely declined due to an SA instance and in turn that affected my attendance in class due to a steep decline in my mental health. I then changed the date on a Dr.'s note so that my attendance grade would not be affected and got caught. At the time I was not in a healthy place to admit to the academic dishonesty head that I was SA'd but I did let him know my mental health was not in a place to attend class which led me to make the bad decision to alter the note. He informed me that my punishment would be a semester off and although I considered that as a suspension, my transcript doesn't show that I was suspended, it just looks that I took a semester off.
In grad school/ dental school applications, should I/ do I disclose this? Do I say that I was academically dishonest? If they contact my school, will the school show them the documents of this case or is this case closed?
I have every intention of being honest if asked, considering I have learned a lot from this experience, but I don't want it to be brought to anybody's attention if unnecessary.
Any advice on how I should navigate this would be helpful. Often times when schools see academic dishonesty they assume it's for cheating when in my case it wasn't so (I still did something wrong it just wasn't cheating)
Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello, I am seeking some advice!
I graduated with a degree in Biology December 2023 with a low GPA and I am currently applying to SMPs and Masters/ Post-Bacc programs.