Questions about Emergency Medicine? AMA!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Blueprint Med School

Top MCAT/USMLE/COMLEX Tutors Answer Your Questions
Vendor
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there! I am an Emergency Medicine senior resident and like the title says, if you have any questions about EM, are considering EM, or are just interested in knowing the goods and bads of the best (obvs biased) specialty in all the land as it relates, drop them below!

David D, MD - USMLE and MCAT Tutor Med School Tutors

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
What do you think about workforce projections?
really good topical Q!

I actually went to the ACEP Leadership and Advocacy Conf in DC this year where the guy who authored the big study that shook the entire field spoke. Right now we have a good mix of docs but too many are working in cities and too few are rural, so midlevels are taking rural spots by necessity but they are starting to squeeze docs out. By 2030 we will have too many docs 'probably' but he showed several different curves based on:

1) growth of new residencies (more = overflow = bad)
2) turnover (which will probably jump because of pandemic burnout)
3) midlevel scope of practice expansion and impingement (the defining issue of our generation)

and depending on how those factors play out, we could either have 'about as many docs as we need but good luck getting a job in a major city' to 'crisis level oversupply and salary deflation'.

So if you are reading this, please get involved with AMA and the state/specialty groups where you end up (ACEP for ER for example) because they will be fighting the long necessary war over #3.

Members don't see this ad :)