Questions regarding pre-requisites

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jh24park

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Student Doctors :),

I am a co-op student from Waterloo Engineering, and I have a few questions regarding pre-requisite courses.

Due to the nature of my program, I have two co-op terms (Fall and Winter) and one academic term (Spring). I was wondering if it is acceptable take pre-requisite courses during the spring term (I thought this might not be allowed since this year is technically not full-year basis due to two co-op terms). So I asked an admission advisor about this issue, and his answer was " A year with two coop terms would not be counted towards your WGPA but courses would be recognized towards the prerequisites."

1) Does this mean that my grades for pre-requisites will not be counted as part of my GPA? If so, how would the admission committee evaluate my academic performance on pre-requisite courses?

2) For some medical schools, it is required that an applicant should take pre-requisite courses at a level corresponding with the year of his/her program. I am in third year right now, so does this mean that I will have to take third year pre-requisite courses? Since I am in Engineering, is it acceptable to take first-year level biology/chemistry as pre-requisites?

3) Most medical schools require you to take "full-year" (or two half-year) courses. Am I allowed to take one half course in third year and another half course in fourth year?

4) In order to take a "full-year course in biology", is it acceptable to take two half courses that are completely irrelevant? (for example, genetics and anatomy)

I would greatly appreciate it if anyone could answer any of these questions.
Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

This is a really specific question to Waterloo and Canadian med schools, and you should try the Canadian SDN equivalent instead:

http://www.premed101.com/forums/