quick post bacc question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rewopswaj

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If you can afford not to work, don't work and take a full load of pre-reqs. If you've taken nothing, this will be a little tricky since organic chemistry requires general chemistry first.

The most time-efficient way to do this is to take gen chem over the summer, then take orgo/bio/physics during the school year. If you're not in a hurry, split it up over two years and take gen chem with either physics or bio and organic with the other science the following year. Not many med schools require anything else for admission.

Most post-bacc students don't take non-required courses because of cost. It wouldn't hurt to take them, but I don't think it would help all that much either.

I graduated recently, but I'm going to take my pre reqs this coming fall. I took no science courses in undergrad (except rocks for jocks! yay!), so I'm wondering, when I do enroll, how many classes does the average non traditional take each semester?

Yes, you should definitely strive to take a full load of classes each semester. On average, this amounts to roughly 16 semester credits, but this can depend on factors such as your school's definition of full time and your comfort level. I believe my alma mater considers around 12 credits to be full time, but most pre-medical undergraduate students will average around 16 credits/semester, up to around 18, or so, but this is because they take non-science classes also. I stuck with around 12 credits, mostly, in my postbaccalaureate work, with a couple of classes in the summer; they were all science classes. 16 semester credits is 4 science classes with lab, and 12 credits is 3 science classes with lab.