Quitting Residency For Medical Reason

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surgintern2020

Reaction score
Hello there!

I am a PGY1 prelim surgical intern at a great program in a great city. After starting the residency I became depressed, not focused, anhedonic, feeling worthless and useless at work (like I have never been to medical school before), forget a lot, have a low self-esteem, and want to sleep all the time and escape reality. When I wake up in the morning I feel very very anxious and very fatigued to the point that I wish if I did not wake up forever. I was diagnosed and treated for depression since 2004 and because of the recent start of my residency my depression spikes. I also feel burned out maybe because I did not get enough break before residency (I was studying for STEP 3) and there is an overlap between the depression symptom with burn out symptoms.

My mind is overloaded with a lot of thoughts to the point there is no more space to think or care about patients. I forget a lot about the patients I see, and my memory is very poor. In addition to that, I feel very tired and weak to continue the rest of the year and I want just to have this year off because I am not feeling well and I don't know what I'm doing at work and I don't want to be a burden to the team.

I am currently considering quitting the residency because I really can't take care of myself and my patients, I feel I'm not safe to the patient. I can't afford and handle more stressor on top of my depression. I can't handle the painful anxious moment in every morning to push myself with this low energy and loss of interest and low mood. I worked so hard to get accepted to this program and I don't know why I am feeling that way. I am seeing a psychiatrist, he relates those symptoms to depression and he thinks they will go away after treatment. He requested a 2-week sick leave from my program and I am currently off work.