Radiology Elective - Tips for Impressing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

seanth

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Canadian student at a US med school going to be going an away rotation in Canada. I really need to do well on the rotation to get "an in" to the Canadian system. I know its difficult on a radiology rotation, but are there any good ways to make a good impression? (aside from acting interested, asking questions etc.)

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Are there any differences between how radiology is practiced?

No I don't think there's much difference to how it's practiced, so I'm open to any tips. :)

Members don't see this ad :)
As you've already mentioned, being a student on a radiology rotation can be difficult. Unlike a medicine rotation, for example, you can't really contribute to the work. I think that leads many students to be over-eager, meaning that you ask too many questions, particularly when the residents are busy or during read-out with the staff. Nothing gets to me more than when a student won't shut up while I'm trying to catch up with the work.

My advice is to take a less is more approach. Everyone knows that it can get incredibly boring watching someone else for hours on end, so the temptation is to either ask questions or just leave. On the other hand, if you can be patient, pay attention, and then ask questions at the right times, then that goes a long way in my book.

Pretty good advice. There can be a lot of potentially awkward prolonged silences in the dark room.

Anyone check out FA for the Radiology Clerkship?

Pretty good advice. There can be a lot of potentially awkward prolonged silences in the dark room.

Anyone check out FA for the Radiology Clerkship?

Don't bother. You'll be lucky if the attendings even acknowledge your existence during a radiology rotation.