Raised Skin Excision Technique

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheMysteryMan

Reaction score
Disclaimer
I am a student of electrical engineering, not medicine. I have come here to bounce my idea off of those who are educated in dermatology. Please excuse my medical ignorance.

Introduction
I have an idea for a minimally invasive method for removing raised skin-colored benign moles/abnormalities that I'd like to bounce off of some of you dermatologists/students.

Background
I was looking around online for surgical techniques for dealing with raised skin-colored moles and I found that there were no methods that resulted in minimal scarring. In addition, there were no surgical instruments that could accommodate the procedure that I had in mind.

Thesis Statement
I believe it may be possible to achieve minimal scarring in the removal of benign raised skin-colored abnormalities by boring into the epidermis/dermis with a coaxial suction-saw.

Topic 1: The Tool
I believe I can develop and manufacture a tool that could internally excise and remove benign tissue. The tool would resemble a needle with a nominal outside diameter of no more than 0.9 mm (20 gauge needle) with a wall thickness of no more than 0.3 mm. The internal 0.6 mm space would contain coaxial angled razors that would rotate through radial grooves in the needle wall towards the tip of the needle. The outside diameter of the internal rotating shaft connected to the razors would be 0.4 mm. The remaining 0.2 mm tolerance would be used as the vacuum. The rear of the needle tool could be connected to a vacuum and this would serve to evacuate excised tissue.

Topic 2: Procedure Aftermath