Reasons for Career Change to PT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

somo47

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have seen quite a few of the non-trads on the site post about the fields they left to pursue PT and it made me wonder - what was the reason? Not that I'm questioning your judgement, obviously, I am just curious about the view of those who have been in the work force for a while and why they saw PT as the right choice for them.

Did you just feel that PT would be more fulfilling? Were the opporunities better? Salary difference? Better hours for family? Was PT always the end-goal? I'm sure it's a unique situation for everyone but I always like seeing the profession's appeal from someone with a different background than my own!

Members don't see this ad.

I was a personal trainer so it wasn't hard to improve. I did PT because I was interested in performance enhancement and rehab. I wanted a profession in which I could apply scientific knowledge. PT is an established profession that pays a decent wage and allows me to live anywhere. Personal training is ubiquitous, but the requirements, standards, and barriers to entry are so low, and it's seen as a luxury service. You can't make a living doing personal training. A few make it (Craig Ballantyne, JC Santana, etc.) but most don't.

Reactions: 2 users