Recent Grad Wanting A Second Chance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hawktux09

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am looking for some advice. I graduated with a BS in Communication in 2019. During that I spent a year in Bio, and unfortunately did terrible (Failed Chem, Pass/fail most other classes, D in pre-calc).

Due to recent events, I really want to pursue medical school, and that is where my heart has been since leaving Bio. I know I need to take basically all the pre-reqs, especially to raise my cGPA (3.27) and my sGPA which I dont even know, but it isnt pretty.

I am moving to New Orleans, and I know Tulane has options, however I dont think I qualify for any of their programs because of the science gpa and not taking those in undergrad. I was also looking at Loyola's Pre-health Post-bacc program. I am wondering if anyone else knows any options.

In addition Id like any advice on what I could do now to increase my chances of getting into medical school, volunteering, shadowing, etc.

This is something I have no doubt I want to do for the rest of my life, and I am passionate about.

Members don't see this ad.

You're definitely on the right path. You need to ACE whatever prereqs you have left in the postbacc program that is right for you. Check out the AAMC's website to search for more formal postbacc programs but you can also design your own postbacc education at a local university. While you are taking care of your grades you should be gaining clinical experience, volunteering, and shadowing. Try getting some leadership and research experience too if you can.

Oh yea and bust you butt for the MCAT