Recent new attendings - anything you wished you worked more on during your last year of residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

propofabulous

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently in my last year of residency, planning to go into private practice (if anyone is hiring in the time of Covid...).

I am looking for wisdom from those who have already gone through the resident -> attending transition, especially for private practice attendings doing bread and butter cases. Does anything stick out as something you wish you had experienced more, or tried or practiced or worked on during your CA-3 year of residency? Do you ever find yourself thinking "I wish I had done or seen more of ____"?

Examples I can think of (are these too exotic for private practice?):
-Procedures: awake LMA/glide, intubating through LMA, glossopharyngeal/superior laryngeal/transtracheal blocks, brachial/axillary/dorsalis pedis/femoral A-lines, subclavian/femoral central lines, perc cric, jet ventilation
-Regional: Cervical plexus, Infraclav, PECS1/2, QL, Serratus anterior, Anterior/Transgluteal/Subgluteal sciatic, Thoracic epidurals, Paravertebral, Catheters
-OB: epidural blood patches, CSE's, paramedian approach to neuraxial, lateral positioning during neuraxial
-Peds: peds caudals, peds A-line/C-lines
-Hearts: TTE, TEE

Members don't see this ad.

Nope. I did all of those things in training except QL, sciatic and crics.

With good partners you will pick up techniques very quickly. You don't need to waste a year in fellowship to learn how to do a QL block when you can look it up on nysora/youtube.

If I were you, I'd work on doing things quickly. Learn how to do blocks efficiently and time your wakeups for drapes going down.

Reactions: 2 users