Recommendation letter

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mikhail

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I need your advice, guys.
I took 3 science classes at my college, 2 general biology and org. chemistry 2.
I cannot get a recommendation letter from the premed. committee, so I've asked 2 professors, one bio and the orgo. chem to write them. The bio professor wrote it but the organic chemistry told me that because he does not know me enough and the class was big, he can write it but it's not going to be strong. The only option that I have is to ask my other biology professor to write me one. So, what do you think: is it better to have 2 strong recommendation letters from the same subject professors or to have one strong and the other "weak" from different subject professors?
Thank you very much in advance.

Mikhail

P.S.
I'm a transfer student from Russia with most science classes from there. That's why I only had to take 3 classes in the U.S.

Members don't see this ad.

Two strong. The subject doesn't matter.

Mikhail said:
Hello,
I need your advice, guys.
I took 3 science classes at my college, 2 general biology and org. chemistry 2.
I cannot get a recommendation letter from the premed. committee, so I've asked 2 professors, one bio and the orgo. chem to write them. The bio professor wrote it but the organic chemistry told me that because he does not know me enough and the class was big, he can write it but it's not going to be strong. The only option that I have is to ask my other biology professor to write me one. So, what do you think: is it better to have 2 strong recommendation letters from the same subject professors or to have one strong and the other "weak" from different subject professors?
Thank you very much in advance.

Mikhail

P.S.
I'm a transfer student from Russia with most science classes from there. That's why I only had to take 3 classes in the U.S.