Sep 14, 2010
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
I'm a recent graduate in psychology, and I just finished sending out my applications to doctoral programs in clinical neuropsychology geared mostly toward research. I thought I'd feel really relieved at this. Instead I'm just left wondering why I didn't do premed in undergrad... especially toward the end of my career I really noticed that I was finding endocrinology and A&P a lot more appealing than developmental psychology. When I was a research assistant I was usually working alongside neuro-majors who wanted to go into medicine, as opposed to other psychology majors. For a while I thought clinical neuropsychology was probably for me, but I've been hearing such bad things about the state of clinical psychology lately... from psychologsts, that it just doesn't seem worth it.

Anyhow... I thought I might consider psychiatry over psychology. I don't know much about the medical school admissions process but I'm wondering what it would take for me to turn myself around and go that route, or if I should:

Undergrad GPA: 3.6
Standardized Tests: I think I generally test well; I received a 1400 on the GRE. I don't know how comparable the MCATs are to other standardized tests.
Research Experience: 18 months of research in psychopharmacology and behavioral neuroscience
Clinical Experience: None. While this isn't as much of a problem in research-oriented clinical psychology programs, I don't know what medical admissions committees expect.

For my coursework...
Biology- a lot; also plenty of psychology and neuroscience
Chemistry- 8 credits of general
Statistics- 8 credits of statistics
Calculus- 4 credits of calculus
Physics- none