Dental Rejected from three schools this cycle. What should I do next?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I got rejected from three dental schools already. I am assuming the rest of the schools (about 6 others) are going to do the same. It really sucks, but I am not giving up. I graduated with my bachelor's in May of 2020, 3.4 overall gpa and 3.3science gpa, my dat was low AA 19. I had a committee letter, lots of volunteer hours outside of the dental field, I had both shadowing and working experience as a dental assistant for a year and I was also the president of the pre-dental club in college, unfortunately, this was not enough. I have been working full-time as a dental assistant since last July at a dental company, but my question now is should I do a post bacc or a master's program to raise my gpa and re-take the DAT? Or can I just re-take the DAT and improve my score and that will be sufficient enough to get me an interview for the next cycle. Any advice/suggestion is appreciated, thanks!
GPA is the bigger issue here. 19 is low but not too low. What schools did you apply to?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a NY resident, I applied to NYU, Columbia, Stony Brook, BU, Tufts, Penn, Temple, Western U, LECOM, Touro, and Buffalo
With your current scores, of the places you applied only BU, NYU, Tufts, Western, LECOM, maybe Touro and Buffalo are remotely close to you being competitive based on your GPA/DAT.

Arizona
Midwestern-IL and AZ
Roseman
UNE
Missouri
UNLV
East Carolina

The schools above are also closest to your scores if you weren't going to retake the DAT or try to do a post-bac. I am not sure about the regional bias of the schools I listed above...this is purely based on scores.

East Carolina
Definitely do not apply to ECU, they only accept NC residents.

If I choose to apply to the northeastern schools again, would you suggest I do a post bacc/masters and re-take the DAT?