Repayment during Residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Xmulder

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know if we are still designated as "students" during residency? Would debt incurred up until that time still be deferred until residency is completed, or does debt repayment begin as soon as the 4 years of med school are over?

:cool:

Members don't see this ad.

im no expert in this subject, but i believe that some loans offer deferments based on your income and payment requirements.

here's c&p from northstar.org:

Here are some common situations when you could be eligible for a deferment:

When the ratio of your income to your monthly payment meets a certain threshold. (This deferment is common when fulfilling a residency requirement.)

Fin-Nor said:
im no expert in this subject, but i believe that some loans offer deferments based on your income and payment requirements.

here's c&p from northstar.org:

Yes, I understand the concept and possibility of deferments...my question was more asking whether enrollment in a residency program still qualifies you for "student" status as during med school (and thus debt does not yet enter repayment) or is it considered "full time employment" (and thus debt enters repayment, but with deferment possible). Technically, residents earn $ so i would think it would disqualify "student" status, but be considered "employment" instead.

Can anyone verify or clarify this?

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm pretty sure that payments start a few months after one graduates and/or takes an extended leave from medical school (there is a short buffer period that's mentioned on the promissory notes).

Xmulder said: