Requesting letter by email?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ihave Nonamè

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, what's the best way to go about this?

Include "Letter of Recommendation request" in the subject title?

Keep it rather short?

Any objections to this below?:

'Hi Professor ---, I'm writing to request a letter of recommendation from you. I was a student in your (course name) class in (time of year). I attended and enjoyed all office hours with you, considered the material beyond what was necessary for the course and earned an A.

If you are able to write a letter on my behalf, I would be available for a zoom meeting to discuss my journey thus far toward medical school. Please let me know.

sincerely..'

I'll add that everything is remote here in California so I cannot go in to ask in person.

Members don't see this ad.

Personally, I would include a few sentences about something specific you enjoyed about the course or something about the course that encouraged you in your pursuit of a career in medicine. Adds a nice personal touch and makes it seem like you're asking them for reasons other than because you did well in the class. Also would word the beginning like "I'm writing to ask if you would be willing to write a letter of recommendation on my behalf for my application for medical school". Sounds less demanding. Make sure you sound very grateful for their consideration as well.

Reactions: 1 users
I would make my request for an LOR as personal as possible. Pre-pandemic, I would visit the professor in person to make the request. Post-pandemic, I would call the professor if possible, but, if that is not the nature of your relationship, I would personalize the letter (as suggested above).

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)