Research career in neurology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MyelinatedPotato

Reaction score
I'm a MD-PhD student who really enjoyed my PhD and want to focus on basic science research in my career (maybe occasionally seeing some patients after residency). I noticed that compared to specialties like psychiatry or internal medicine, there seems to be less of a well established research track in neurology, and fewer faculty members who run their own labs. Is this an accurate perception? Is neurology a research friendly specialty?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Just the opposite - neurology tends to attract a disproportionate number of people interested in research and academics compared with IM and most of its subspecialties. If you're seeing something very different in your institution then you may be somewhere with a neurology department that isn't very strong relative to IM or other specialties.

Reactions: 2 users
Less of a well-established research track in neurology compared to internal medicine or psychiatry???? Have you researched Neurology closely? Many Neurology programs have R25 funding from NIH, so there is a structured pathway for clinician-scientists in neurology. It’s not easy and is super competitive, but those who have a strong research background and train at one of those programs, have a decent chance at getting NIH funding and having a clinician-scientist career.

Members don't see this ad :)
I see people proclaiming to be interested in research... but all the attendings are doing case reports or clinical trials, not running basic science research labs/groups funded federally or by foundations. In contrast I see a lot more successful PIs in psychiatry and internal medicine. Is this from lack of interest from academic neurologists, lack of opportunities, or less investment from neurology departments so doing research requires too much of a pay cut?