Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Research/Volunteering-Please help

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Schwann, Dec 16, 2008.

1. Schwann

7+ Year Member

Hi,
    I have been working at a laboratory for around 3 years, where I take pictures of eye anatomy, assist with tear collection, and other laboratory tasks. However, I have not had my own research project. I am a little confused as to what is considered research.

Should I find another job where I am given a research project to work on, should I volunteer at a hospital, or should I stay at my current job?

2. URHere

Physician PhD 10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    If you've been there for three years, I don't think it's out of the question for you to sit down with your PI and ask to be more involved. If you have been a reliable assistant, and have spent more than a few hours a week in the lab, I think your chances are good of ending up with your own project.

If this lab has been more of a "few hours a week" gig for you, then you really aren't going to be able to manage your own project in such little time at your lab or any other.

So my advice is, if you are in the lab at least half time (20ish hours/week), then ask for your own project. If not, find something else like volunteer work or resign yourself to staying at your current job without your own project.

And to answer your question: what you have been doing counts as research, but it is not independent research. Independent research means that you carry a project through from start to finish - planning the study, collecting the data, analyzing the data, and writing it up/presenting it.

3. Mobius1985

7+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]