SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Residencies at USUHS

Discussion in 'Military Medicine' started by morehousepremed, May 28, 2008.

1. morehousepremed

May 28, 2008
    So I am a rising junior undergraduate premed student and I am really interested in military medicine and USUHS. However, there are two things that worry me:

1. Am I able to complete the same residencies as civilians and specialize in the field that I want to? For instance, I want to be a plastic surgeon. Can I do this at USUHS.

2. Secondly, when faced with decisions between USUHS and Hopkins/Duke/Harvard, does USUHS rankings match up at all? or board passing rates?

Can someone help???
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. BomberDoc

BomberDoc ex-BomberDoc 2+ Year Member

First, spend some time reading most of the threads on this forum. Why are you interested in military medicine? If it is because being an officer in the military is more important to you than being a doctor, you are going the right direction. If medicine is more important or if you are just looking for a good way to pay for the enormous cost of med school, run now and never look back.

To take a stab at your questions:
    1. No. You can only complete a residency that the military allows you to complete. If your wants and the military's needs match, then you are OK. Otherwise, you are not. You'll also change your mind about what specialty you want as you progress through med school.

2. USUHS grads (I'm not one) seem to be happy with their experience... until they get out and start practicing in the real military. USUHS students are protected from the military BS to a great extent. Med school is med school. You'll learn the same stuff and take the same board exams whether you go to State U or Harvard. Their board pass rates are probably similar too.