Residency in Denamrk or Sweden

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NetPharoh

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all ,
I'm an international Non Eu doctor i have finished medical school and i will finish my internship year in a couple of months . I would like to know how to get a residency in Denmark or Sweden . Do i need to take any exams??? is a certain level of language proficiency is required ??? etc......
Any information will be much appreciated :)
Thanks in advance for your help

Members don't see this ad.

85 views and not even a single answer for my first post here in the forum???? that is really depressing guys :oops:(

Hey there,
I would really suggest that you go over some of the threads in the international forum as this issue has been answered over and over again.

But a gist:
You do have to take a language for Denmark (and Norway) but not Sweden (although you have to prove that you're fluent to a certain extent in your interview). Furthermore, you have to get your degree validated or recognized by the medical boards of these countries. Usually non-EU medical graduates will have to sit an exam (which tests your medical knowledge) and if they don't pass it, then they have to try again. After you pass this exam, you then undergo and 6 month-1 year training in order for you to get accustomed to the Swedish/Danish system of healthcare. Upon completion of this training and validation of your medical degree, you will be legally registered. Once you're done with this training, you finally get to choose a specialty of your choice (this is equivalent to a residency). And the specialty is of course paid and the salary gets better as you go on (usually the Scandinavian resident salaries are much better than their American counterpart).