DrMeowMeow

7+ Year Member
Jul 19, 2011
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I tried looking in other threads, but couldn't find the answer to my question. I'm currently a DO intern in an ACGME residency and want to apply for the Resolution 42 waiver. I've read the requirements and am still confused about the logistics. The requirements say I have to submit my OMM powerpoint presentation within 2 months of conducting it, and I need a verification letter sent from my program (after June 30, 2017) after my internship is over to verify that I presented my OMM lecture and that I completed the intern rotations.

If I did my presentation in October 2016, am I supposed to submit my application within 2 months of that without the verification letter?

Also, when should I renew my AOA membership? If I renew this year, it will expire on May 31st, 2017, but I cannot get my verification letter until after June 30th, 2017. Does that mean I would have to pay to renew my AOA membership again for June 2017-May 2018 for my application to be approved? Or would I only have to be an AOA member during my internship year? Can i just not renew my membership this year and just get membership next year?

Thank you to anyone who has been through this process and can help clarify my questions.

Last edited:

group_theory

EX-TER-MIN-ATE!'
Staff member
Administrator
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Oct 2, 2002
Status
Attending Physician
It has been a while since I applied for Resolution 42 BUT if I recall ... you apply and submit your OMM presentation (or attend the national AOA conference if your program allows) ... and send the verification from your program director that you presented your OMM lecture when you apply. Your "application" will be put on hold pending verification that you completed your intern year (the letter your PD sends after PGY1) ... then the AOA will approve, stating that you completed an AOA-approved intern year.