Retake the MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Alpha Akiik

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all- first time using this and I was hoping to get feedback. I am applying next round, but am wondering if I should retake the MCAT.

I got a 31 M (11 Verbal, 10BS, 10PS). GPA is 3.6 overall probably 3.4 science. I have good experience I feel: currently I am on a year long public health fellowship working in a refugee settlement (and will be doing similar work next year), I worked as a medical Scribe in an emergency room for 2 years, I volunteered in a free medical clinic for a year, have been a live-in care giver, an undergraduate TA for Anatomy for a year, etc. etc.

Any thoughts? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Do not retake unless 1) you really did not study well or 2) for whatever reason you're dead set on a top tier. Even then retaking is risky.

Hey all- first time using this and I was hoping to get feedback. I am applying next round, but am wondering if I should retake the MCAT.

I got a 31 M (11 Verbal, 10BS, 10PS). GPA is 3.6 overall probably 3.4 science. I have good experience I feel: currently I am on a year long public health fellowship working in a refugee settlement (and will be doing similar work next year), I worked as a medical Scribe in an emergency room for 2 years, I volunteered in a free medical clinic for a year, have been a live-in care giver, an undergraduate TA for Anatomy for a year, etc. etc.

Any thoughts? Thanks!
I was recently counselling a student who re-took her 31 MCAT and got a 28 on her second try. She has gotten no interviews so far.

With a sound strategy you can have an admission in your hand by this time next year.

There is no good explanation for retaking a good score.

Members don't see this ad :)