Returning Lost Children

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Febrifuge

Grizzled Old Newcomer
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well, okay, it's just a stethoscope. But it's a Littman Cardiology III, and worth like $130. I found it four or five weeks back in the trauma room; initially I left it there, as this is the best way for lost stuff to get back to its owner. But when it was still there two weeks later, I thought action was needed.

So I put it up just outside the Pit, by the bulletin board, with a little note: "Yours? Please claim! Found approx (date), been in (room) for 2 wks, if not claimed by (date 2 weeks in future) I'm thinking about taking it home."

A few days later, it's hanging deep within the Pit, where only doctors roam, without the note.

Hey, I'm an impoverished student. This is nicer than mine. And the note is the only practical way to communicate. We have rotating students, consulting teams, and staff who come in once a month for a few days. No name tag, no identifying marks.

So... have I broken some mysterious rule or tradition? Will it hang there forever? Is there a theoretical point where I've done all I can to be an honorable guy, and I can take the Littman home with a clean conscience?

(Actually, I wouldn't keep it; it's nicer than what I have, but not so nice I can overlook the little things I would want different, if I were to order one of my own. I'd donate it to my classmate who does charity care... seriously!)

How do you handle this situation, in your ED?

Members don't see this ad.

You put up a note, you waited several weeks to see if anyone claimed it. I would say you have a new stethoscope.

People who don't label their stethoscopes don't get to complain if it doesn't get returned when they leave it somewhere.

Same as the rule that applies to the food in the break room refridgerator: No name, fair game!

Members don't see this ad :)