Returning to medicine---after 4 years!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bythesea

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm new to the forum---I actually just found out about it. Looks great!

So, I graduated med school 4 years ago (US grad). After graduation, however, I took off. And I mean I took off----I pretty much hit the road. I can't say I've done anything even remotely clinically relevant. I traveled extensively, worked abroad in various jobs, got hitched, and basically became a vagabond.

I don't regret for one moment what I did. I took Step 3 of the boards 2 years ago and passed it on the first try. I'm happy with the path I took.

But, it's time to get back to reality! I want to go into internal medicine---location isn't really important, as my wife is willing to relocate wherever I get a spot.

Does anyone have any advice for me? Do programs lock out applications from people who've been out of medicine for x number of years?

Also, do I go through the match, or do I just scramble for unfilled spots? Do I do interviews?

Thanks!

:)

Members don't see this ad.

If I were you I'd probably get back in touch with your medical school first and see what advice they have. It might be worthwhile to do a few rotations or at least shadowing in the upcoming year; in the meantime you could submit an eras application in september and see if you get some interviews.

How do you "do a few rotations"? That would require you to be either a student or resident with malpractice ins. and a temp license if a resident. Just curious. I guess maybe that is why should contact your school.

And how do you take step 3 without being enrolled in or finishing an internship?

And how do you take step 3 without being enrolled in or finishing an internship?