Rising Junior: 2020 September MCAT or wait until April 2021?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tripleds

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I'm currently a sophomore and am struggling to decide when to take the MCAT. With summer opportunities being limited due to our current situation for the foreseeable future, I'm trying to strategize the optimal approach for taking the MCAT.

For my next fall semester, I will be taking biochemistry, cell bio, and physiology. I just finished orgo 2 and physics e&m. I'm trying to decide if I should start studying this June in order to take a September MCAT (before my courses start to really pick up with difficulty and time commitment as I start classes late August).

I will have to learn biochemistry during my prep obviously as I've yet to take it in college. Is this a wise idea? My original plan was to wait until my spring semester of Junior year when I would have a very light course load to take the MCAT, but I feel as if having the option open to retake it then instead of a first attempt could be a good idea. Additionally, if I started studying over this summer, I could dedicate a lot more time and focus to exam prep and continue my EC's throughout the next fall semester.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

How about taking it in January 2021? It's better wait until you are done with biochem. You can study other topics during summer and use thanksgiving and winter breaks to do practice tests.

Reactions: 1 user
I took it before Biochem and did reasonably well. Taking biochem beforehand is way overblown in importance, just make sure you do enough practice and are scoring where you’d like to before you’re date and you’re golden to take it this year