Rising Sophomore but... really need help/advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lovely0508

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! This might not be the forum to write, but since it said "chances," I'd figured I'd write here than other places. If not, let me know and I'll delete this post :).

I am a rising sophomore at a college and am seriously freaking out because of my spring term science course GPA. In the fall, I took intensive Intro Chem and got 3.33 (B-), in the spring, I took two intro bio course (my school splits intro bio to two - organismal and cellular) and got 2.91 (C+) on each. I have a cumulative GPA of 2.83 for my freshman year.
This is scary. I did so HORRIBLY on my intro bio courses! I am no longer sure if I am even qualified to be on premed track anymore. Is there any way I can compensate? Also, I have an issue of not quite being a full citizen (I have permanent residency). In this case, having a bad first year grade would kill my chances, wouldn't it. I mean, having a bad first year grade would really kill in general. ANY WAY I CAN SAVE MYSELF? I am planning on taking orgo chem and histology in the fall. If I do well on these, would it help, or seem like at least I've improved? How much does intro level science courses matter? Please help me. I am too scared to even tell my parents what I got for the spring term because it's so bad. I've never gotten a C in my life. I'd really appreciate your help. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You're in the right place.

First off, you need to figure out why you did so poorly and fix it. Did you have too much fun? Do you just not understand the material becauuse it's too difficult? Are the study strategies from HS failing you? Are you so involved with extracurricular activites that you don't have the time to study sufficiently? Are you depressed or home sick?