Roseman or SMP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psb15

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So... I am currently waitlisted at Buffalo, USC, New England, and accepted at Roseman. And rejected by UCSF

But I honestly wasn't impressed with the school. I really loved their curriculum, but felt it was a gamble going to a school that doesn't even have a clinic really set up yet.

Being a California resident, I feel like going to an SMP for a year and then reapplying will boost my chances. I know what really hurt my chances are low GPA for the first two years of undergrad. Any recommendations?

My stats are: DAT: 24
GPA: 3.4

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

So... I am currently waitlisted at Buffalo, USC, New England, and accepted at Roseman. And rejected by UCSF

But I honestly wasn't impressed with the school. I really loved their curriculum, but felt it was a gamble going to a school that doesn't even have a clinic really set up yet.

Being a California resident, I feel like going to an SMP for a year and then reapplying will boost my chances. I know what really hurt my chances are low GPA for the first two years of undergrad. Any recommendations?

My stats are: DAT: 24
GPA: 3.4

Thanks.
So what is the point of applying to Roseman if you aren't even going to go to it if accepted?

Reactions: 2 users
Go anyways. You learn more hands on after you graduate according to every single dentist I have talked to. Its not worth wasting time. It is not promised that you will get into the school you want next year.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Go to Roseman, no doubt. Don't even think about taking on more debt to do a SMP.

Reactions: 1 user
Take a year off, work your ass off to maybe get into dental school the next year, or work your ass of as a D1 in the fall?

Simple really.