Rotations for IMG's???????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Binu74

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am a student who is just finishing up my fourth year in a medical school in India. To graduate we have to do a year of internships but I was told that I can do some of my rotations in the US. I am not sure how to do this so if anyone knows would you please reply.

Members don't see this ad.

I'll move this to Rotations and Residencies (IMGs) for ya...but first...

Most US medical schools will allow final year students to visit for an elective period (usually between 4 and 12 weeks in length). There are *some* schools which restrict visiting students to those from US allopathic schools but there are plenty who will take IMGs.

First, you must ascertain whether or not your school allows you to spend some time abroad and will give you credit for it.

Secondly, you must find some US programs which allow IMGs to come for visiting electives. Most schools have their policies on-line; check under "Visiting Electives", "4th year Curriculum" or "Student Affairs" at schools you may be interested in.

Most schools will require the following:

- an application for the elective, detailing where, when and what you want to do

- a statement from your medical school that you are a final year student in good academic standing, that you will or will not receive academic credit for the rotation and are approved for the rotation