Oct 29, 2010
Status
Medical Student
Hi Guys,

I was wondering if any current students or grads of Saba could share their opinions on the school? I couldn't see any recent posts on the matter.

How did you rate the teaching? Did you find the professors accessible? How was the access to cadavers? Do you know if the school uses technology and records and post lectures online? I personally love small class sizes and come from a very rural area, but did the size of the island allow for any opportunity to engage in clinical contact prior to year 3?

Really like the looks of this school, so wanted to get any honest opinions and feedback!

Many thanks

Jamie :)

Oct 16, 2013
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Hi Jamie, sorry for the late reply...just saw this. I am a recent Saba grad, so hopefully I can shed some light on your question.

Like most Carib schools, part of our schooling is done on the island (20 months/5 semesters) and our clinical rotations are all in the US. Our teachers are generally very thorough and experienced, with a mix of US phDs, foreign profs and retired US physicians. As in any school, there will be problems with teachers occasionally, but the majority of the classes are very well taught. The curriculum is almost spoon-fed to the students, with many more class hours than the typical US med school. This is helpful for students in the long run, because everything is explained thoroughly, but it mostly serves to protect the school and ensure students do well on their board exams. Students constantly failing their boards would be disaster for a school.