Safety school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ewoowe

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I have a quick question. What is a good pharmacy school to consider as a backup school? I've looked through some past threads, but didn't find many strong opinions on the subject.

My situation: I'm in my mid twenties and graduated from the University of Minnesota with a B.S. in CompSci. I have been working in the tech field for the past two years and recently decided to go for a PharmD. Because of some poor grades in the past I have serious doubts about being accepted to the U of M program (but I'll try anyway).

So, what four year programs out there have high admission rates?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Although perhaps a year or so ago, you may have been able to single out "safety schools", I don't think that's at all possible now. I suspect just about every school has a waiting list, and applicants to "acceptees" are at least a 3:1 ratio. Perhaps some of the very new schools that have "pre-candidate accreditation" status like Wingate University in North Carolina, and South University in Georgia...but I really don't know.

You earned a BS in Computer Sci...did you take all your prereqs yet?

in general public schools are going to be more selective, so depending on which state you are in you may want to focus more on private schools

Members don't see this ad :)
Since last winter I have taken Organic Chem I & II, a calc Physics course, and a Psychology class. I got an A in all of them and that has raised my GPA from 2.90 to close to a 3.0. By the time I finish my Fall term I should be above a 3.0, but I don't think that will be enough to get into the U of Minn PharmD.

I found an old thread on this

http://www.studentdoctor.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=55294&highlight=pcat