Scheduling Vacation Early in 4th Yr..is it bad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rendezvous14

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th yr student applying for the match this year. I want to take the first 2 months (~7/20-9/20) of the year off for vacation to finish up some research projects/publications that I've been working on as well as take Step 2.

I am sure what I want to go into, so I don't need to do sub-i's in a couple of areas to help me decide, and I already have all my LOR's. Also, my Step 1 score and 3rd year evaluations were all solid, so I don't desperately need a really good sub-i eval. But I am concerned how an extended period without clinical work at the beginning of 4th year will come off on my application..will I be perceived as lazy? Will programs wonder why I'm not doing sub-i's during that time?

Thanks in advance..

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a 4th yr student applying for the match this year. I want to take the first 2 months (~7/20-9/20) of the year off for vacation to finish up some research projects/publications that I've been working on as well as take Step 2.

I am sure what I want to go into, so I don't need to do sub-i's in a couple of areas to help me decide, and I already have all my LOR's. Also, my Step 1 score and 3rd year evaluations were all solid, so I don't desperately need a really good sub-i eval. But I am concerned how an extended period without clinical work at the beginning of 4th year will come off on my application..will I be perceived as lazy? Will programs wonder why I'm not doing sub-i's during that time?

Thanks in advance..