Science Student w/ cGPA 3.27, MCAT 33

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

northyork7

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a Canadian undergrad science student about to start on my applications for USMDs (a long list of low tier schools) with the following:

- cGPA 3.27 (high first year, low 2nd year, average 3rd year)
- 1st MCAT: 27N
- 2nd MCAT: 33 (edit: 11 phys, 9 verb, 13 orgo)

EC:
- Co-authored a paper published in Circulation (2 summers and a school year of research)
- Captain of college basketball team
- Executive of Marketing and Promotions in cancer club
- Never volunteered at a hospital, but will be in this final year
- Decent letters of recommendation from 2 profs I did research under

I know I'm applying late but I want this so bad. Thanks in advance for your time!

- Worried Applicant

Members don't see this ad.

cGPA is well below avg for MD schools; Having an "L" shaped curved doesn't help.. You're fine for DO programs. It is also very late in the cycle.

Keep in mind that not all schools accept international applicants.

Hi,

I'm a Canadian undergrad science student about to start on my applications for USMDs (a long list of low tier schools) with the following:

EC:
- Co-authored a paper published in Circulation (2 summers and a school year of research)

I know I'm applying late but I want this so bad. Thanks in advance for your time!

- Worried Applicant

Thanks for the reply. What can you recommend that I do to bolster my chances for this cycle? What about next cycle? What cGPA do you think I need to improve to in order to remain on the competitive end?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the reply. What can you recommend that I do to bolster my chances for this cycle? What about next cycle? What cGPA do you think I need to improve to in order to remain on the competitive end?