Scope of practice opinions...

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

posner

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just wanted to see if my sentiments are echoed by the masses. I liken optometry in the eyecare business to family medicine in the medical game. WHile I acknowledge I am not and should not perform surgery, I do believe there are many procedures that we should all be performing.

I routinely remove chalazions and papillomas etc, dilate and irrigate puncta, insert and remove plugs, treat glaucoma, perform scleral depression, gonio, treat every red eye I see, work patients up for systemic disease when idicated, order imaging when needed, and I am sure to be involved with the PCP and the medical management of my patients.

As a resident I have removed a few pterygiums under the watchful eye of the attending Ophthalmologist, and while It is not particularly difficult, I do not think it necessarily fits into the scope of optometric practice. Stromal punctures I have done and it certainly is not rocket science. I also think that ODs should be able to perform SLT and YAGs. I dont think LASIK should be performed by ODs. I do not think there should be restrictions on oral meds we prescribe, and I think injectibles would be nice for the removal of superficial lesions and chalazions. Am I missing anything? I really think this would be fair to all involved and would also lead to better patient care in the end. Leave the legitiamte surgeries to the surgeons. I am assuming proof of reasonable proficiency would need to be demonstrated by ODs for some of these procedures. What do the masses think?

Posner

Members don't see this ad.