Mar 11, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
Saw an ad for a really cool volunteer job with demanding time commitments. It's an ER scribe. Would be great clinical experience, but the downside is that it's a strict 20 hour per week commitment with potentially random scheduling (like before key exams).

Grades & MCAT preparation obviously come first. Then there's volunteer and important downtime from it all.

Q: Would you guys take this position?

CZDreaMD

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 20, 2008
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi DocelH. I currently work as an ED scribe in California and I have to say it is the best job ever. I absolutely love my job and look forward to going to work every day. Not only are you following the physicians around for the whole shift, but you are observing all procedures, consults, med orders, etc..and learning every step of the way. Where else are you going to develop a very close one on one relationship with an MD? They are going to be able to write you a very strong letter of recommendation as well as open up doors to lectures, events, and other medical goings-on. Also, you are going to learn very quickly if being around sick patients and demanding families is something you are going to be able to deal with.

I would say, absolutely apply for the position. I really think this is the best possible job any pre-medical student can have. PM me if you have any questions! :luck:

May 6, 2009
Bradenton FL
Status
Medical Student
Definitely do it! I've worked as an ER-tech for about 6 years and it shows you a lot of sides of medicine. Some people aren't really prepared for what medicine is really like and ER shows a wide variety of experiences. One of the most rewarding jobs ever!

PB2464

10+ Year Member
Feb 19, 2007
Status
Medical Student
Don't pass this up! I've worked as a paid scribe for about a year now, and it's the best clinical experience I've had so far as a pre-med.