This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cosmicv1bes

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello friends! I hope you are all having a great day. After searching a long time on SDN and Reddit for people in a similar situation, I think my story is different enough to warrant its own post.

I am an ORM and I applied to DO schools in 2016, but I graduated with a poor gpa (~3.0 both sGPA and cGPA; 170 credits) and an unremarkable MCAT (501). So I applied to post bacc and masters programs to work on that. I just graduated from a health science masters program at an MD school with a 3.7 cGPA and a 3.6 sGPA (60 credits). I also took the MCAT last month and scored a 508 (123 CARS :(). The bad CARS score totally shattered me. It was out of left field as I was consistently scoring 126-129 on each of my six practice exams... but what's done is done.

Anyway... I think the other parts of my application are decent. I have a little over 2000 hours in working in a clinical setting as a medical scribe and through work in free health clinics. I have research experience with co-authorship in three published papers (and another one coming up), design of an IRB protocol for a clinical trial, and a poster presentation. I have pretty good leadership experience from undergrad through founding a club that raises money for education in marginalized communities and I now tutor middle school kids living such neighborhoods in my city. I am also on the committee for a new nonprofit. I tutor graduate students and PA students taking medical science courses through my school. My personal statement and secondary essays are really good too, based on feedback from numerous people.

I applied to 20 MD schools:
All Ohio Schools,
Georgetown
Drexel
Jefferson
Temple
Wayne State
Central Michigan
Western Michigan
Loyola
NYCM
Rosalind Franklin
Morehouse
EVMS
Tufts

and 12 DO schools
PCOM
OUH
RVUSOM
MWU
Touro (Cali)
ATSU
MSU
KCU
Rowan
CHSU
DMU
Nova