Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Seperate PS for MD and DO?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by jewjitsu, Jun 18, 2008.

  1. jewjitsu

    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    Is the 4500 character PS that I use for my AACOMAS too short for my AMCAS?

    Also do spaces count in the character count? tabs? skipped lines?

    Thanks
     
  2. tourniquet1963

    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    MDApps:
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    its not too short if you say exactly what you want to say.

    im trying to transform my 5300 character PS to 4500 characters for the DO application.. its not easy!
     
  3. p30doc

    p30doc Ever true and unwavering
    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    32
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Spaces etc do count towards the character count, returns count as 2 characters I believe. I used practically the same PS for MD + DO, MD one was ~300 characters longer, then I just trimmed it for DO.
     
  4. RySerr21

    RySerr21 i aint kinda hot Im sauna
    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,931
    Likes Received:
    23
    Status:
    Fellow [Any Field]
    if you've got your point across and answer the questin (AMCAS has a question while AACOMAS you can write about anything you want) then theres no need to add spaces just to fill them up. it will likely throw off the flow of your PS if you are trying to force things in.

    spaces, tabs, skipped lines, etc. all count towards the character count. every time you push a key, it counts as a character.
     

Share This Page