Shadowing Federal Vets

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

greysxo

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a first-year undergrad. I was wondering about how I would go about shadowing a vet that works for the federal government. I have heard that it would boost my resume, and I am interested in learning more about the different professions in the area. I have tried searching for someone to contact, but I have not found anything. Has anyone done this or can guide me towards where to look?

Members don't see this ad.

Paging @Teepster87 who May know something about some things.

Members don't see this ad :)
I had a 2-year fellowship with my state's veterinarians, I may be able to answer some questions.

You'll likely have to locate specific internship/fellowship/etc opportunities that have a formal application process. Unless you know someone who works for the government or have a friend of a friend, it's going to be difficult to simply shadow. It's hard to get ahold of anyone who can help you in the first place.

I found my opportunity through my university's career website (we used Handshake specifically). I'd start by contacting your school's career office or visiting their website. They often have a pretty decent compilation of available opportunities.

Reactions: 1 user
have you looked up the information for the state vet's office in your home state? That would probably be a good place to start :)
I have, it's not a lot of information lol. Thank you though, I will try to look into it more

I found my opportunity through my university's career website (we used Handshake specifically).
My school uses Handshake as well! I will try to look there to see if there is any information. Unfortunately, my school focuses on human med and doesn't offer/know vet med opportunities. Thanks!